Living In Germany As A Foreign Nurse

Let’s face it, we can’t deny that a medical professional’s job is not easy and often receive few credits and/or appreciation, low salary and a lot of stress. These are just some of the reasons why Filipino nurses leave the country for another, to have a better opportunity and life condition. To be able to provide for the family and get out of the poverty Filipino nurses traverse lands and oceans miles away from home, learn a new culture and sometimes even the language in order to immerse and be able to thrive in that country. For those who have chosen to go to English-speaking countries, they have an advantage but to others (like me) who chose to stay in another country with a different language, the effort must be doubled I must say.

I started learning German language back in 2016 and it was not planned as how it may seem but I am thankful that I never gave up on that. After 3 trials on the exam, I finally passed it in 2018 and that was the beginning of my journey. I started looking for jobs again going to Germany and I was successful after more than a year of search. Too long yeah? Because I got a baby so it was not easy to apply. I needed to prioritize things and was also not sure if I would be able to find one because my work experience was different. I used to practice my other profession which is Radiologic Technology and it doesn’t count as a relevant work experience when you apply as a nurse abroad if you are from Philippines. You all know the struggle, name it.

Of course the paperworks must first be accomplished before one could apply for a visa. I have the relevant papers and mind you, I am not officially an OFW but rather a student because I have to do the recognition exam before I can finally work as a fully-pledged nurse and yes I had dealt as well with the immigration officers at NAIA Terminal 3 with their endless questions. In possession of this visa, I am allowed to work in Germany under a company where I will do the recogniton test, and only for that company. It has limitations since I still lack the German nurse license. This limitation is totally strict as companies will never hire you even if you have such visa, even if it is just for a part-time job. They do really follow rules so the only way left with me is to finish everything about the exam so I could apply for a new residence. Thankfully after 2 years I was able to successfully do the oral and practical part of the exam. The reason behind why it took me so long is a different story. Mine became complicated (One day I will break my silence about it) so it really took time. I am so grateful that God sent the right people in my life to make it work out. You guys all know who you are. Haven’t I met these pips, everything would have easily turned into a disaster. But God is in control. I am also happy because I am able to visit different European countries to relieve and treat myself, to learn people and different culture, to try their foods, and find good items that will remind me of the place and not just a mere keychain.

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Living here for more than 2 years (and counting) has also given me a different perspective in life. Being efficient and competent, on-time (I try to be), tolerant (in a good way), straightforward, respecting boundaries and preferences, being naturally yourself, work-life balance and a lot more are just some that I’ve come to realize and have adapted. I believe it is just okay to adapt to changes if it would be for the betterment. There are also things that will never be lost in me as a Filipino like the smile and happy aura, the care for people especially family and love for noodles. 🙂

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Is racism and discrimination an issue here, you may ask. Well, at first I have experienced some people who try to distant themselves from me or sometimes they will ask me to stay away from them for no reason, or some will take advantage of one’s non-fluency of the language, thinking you don’t understand much. I already know, it is because I am Asian. These are not just true for the locals but for the other nationalities as well. I would say that Germans generally are well-mannered and diplomatic compared to others (sorry, not sorry!). To be safe, better be mindful of who you talk to, be sure to have everything on black and white (if it is not written and has no proof, it will be difficult) and read their laws often so you have an idea when something happens. On the other hand, I have met good people who have helped me along and have treated me nicely. In every foreign place I visit, I have reminded myself to stay composed and be wise and careful no matter what because not all people have the same mindset as I have.

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Another things that I love about Germany are the transportation and the bread. The trains and buses travel by schedule and the terminal has clock and guide for every route so you will not be confused. You can also monitor it through apps so you know when the next ride will be. Strikes (yes, there are strikes here too!) are also scheduled so you can plan ahead and make an alternative if ever you have to be on the road.

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

I mentioned bread. yes, the German bread and pastries are a taste of heaven on earth. I do not know anyone who does not like German bread and pastries (bretzel, bread with squash seeds, bretzel pudding, plain and filled croissant, cheese bread, sandwich, pizza bread, cheesecake, mandarin cake, etc). They are truly made with art and expertise especially the ones in cafe. I actually have thought of working one day in a bakery here, even for part time (who knows maybe it’s a sign). I want to learn the secret of making delicious breads that I get to enjoy in the morning with coffee or while I travel. I personally find it great for such an affordable price (minimum 0.99 cents).

Overall, if I will weigh things, I would say that I have a good life here in Germany. Yes, there will come sadness and struggles because there is no place like home, but Germany has become my second home already. It opened more opportunities to me, led me to self-discovery and has helped shaped my mindset. These are hard to replace with money. It has contributed to my personality and I believe it is a blessing. I have more plans ahead as I stay here but it is too early to put it all into words so I’d better leave it here until it happens.

Do you also live in Germany as a nurse? What is your story?


Sweet Thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.