Starting A New Life Abroad: Moving To Germany

Sometimes things do not work out for a reason and we have to understand and accept it, but sometimes you just have to be patient in order to see the fruits of your labor.

It was 2016 when I started applying for a job overseas and what I meant by that was to be working on a cruise ship. I tried to send applications to different companies who were hiring until someone called me and invited me for a screening. During the screening, the woman who was interviewing me kept on repeating terms related to elderly care… Only to find out that what they were offering was not sea-based but rather land-based.

Turkish Airlines passing thru Nuernberg, Germany (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

I enrolled to language classes as per recommendation by the agency without even knowing how difficult it might be. I have decided to do this so I can finance my start-up business. An examination proving language proficiency has been required in order to have a visa to Germany so I needed to pass the B2 language proficiency exam first. It wasn’t easy at all. It took me 2 years to pass the required exam (Of course with struggles and a lot of challenges along the way), only to find out later that my application for a work permit in Germany got denied for an unknown reason to an indefinite period. It was like my dreams fell down and I got so disappointed.

Oberbarmen, Wuppertal- Schwebebahn (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

I tried to look at different countries were I could apply but the German dreams linger still in my mind. One time someone added me on facebook. I do not know her personally but since we have common friends, I accepted her invitation. I browsed her profile and saw that their company is hiring for professionals so I did not hesitate to contact her and asked for tips on how to apply there. She gave me the number of their medical director and I sent him my application, The rest is a history of long process and lots of challenges to my patience.

Bromberger Strasse, Wuppertal (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

The pandemic hit the world so much in 2019 and almost all of my hopes for this dream were about to disappear. I wanted to let go of the company because it’s been too long since the first day of processing but still no update. Luckily our medical director responded to my message and he advised me to wait and his assistant would quickly write me. I felt reassured because he is our boss and I felt that he cares for the candidate employees. I was really thinking of leaving it but to make it sure, I prayed and asked for a guidance and sign to the One who knows everything… I wrote 2 small notes and blind-picked and it was not to leave this company. I didn’t understand why but I trust God in all things so even if I do not understand, I still held on to the company… They have never given up on me and my colleagues no matter how hard the situation was at the immigration. They fixed all what was needed and now we are here in Germany. It was a lot of struggle and difficulties but I have seen the persistence of our boss so I decided I won’t quit and that I will do this for my family…To give them a good life and social status. To bring them comfort someday while there is still an opportunity for me to work.

Nordpark Burger Allee, Wuppertal (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

To make the story short, it took me almost 5 years since I started dreaming of being here but all I can say is that I am happy where I am now and this is just the beginning of my plans. I do not want to brag about it too much and just keep all the details in me at this time. It is kinda hard because I really need to cope with many things first with the language, second with the weather, third with the job itself and lastly with the colleagues.

I always miss my family and I want to keep myself inspired everyday so that the job will be easier for me. I know I am not as good as the other employees but I see to it that I am doing my best with compassion to my patients. I know I still have so much to improve and yes I am trying to do it little by little every day.

Videocall with my son and husband in the Philippines (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
me and Hanzel while he tries to read (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

The cold weather, high cost of living, long adjustment period to everything and the longing for my family usually causes me to have a lot of mixed emotions and thoughts, though generally I am more happy than lonely. It is my preference to be happy even if I am experiencing such things. Back in my home country there are also a lot of things to deal with so it is just the same, I must say and I am, and I would always be grateful for this opportunity in my life.

waiting outside the post at Leimbach (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

This is the very first time I was able to work as nurse. 10 years ago, I was looking for a nursing job but couldn’t find any so I’ve decided to take up a different course… a longer process that also needed my patience… But you know, it is all worth it. The efforts and sacrifice are worth the wait when you get what you’ve always been praying for.

from the book Keep Believing by Blue Mountain Arts (c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

This is my story and the story of thousand other people who are battling the challenges abroad in order to have a better life while aiming to achieve dreams. I salute everyone who are successful already in this path and I hope to inspire as well those who are planning to take the same roads.


Sweet Thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.