Discovering The Beauty of Belgium

Couple of months ago I have plotted my travel plans ahead so I can enjoy the vacation days but due to unexpected (yet expected somehow) circumstances regarding my previous job, I’ve decided to cancel everything so I could keep my money for emergency purposes. It was a series of struggles for me and a huge shift on my career that I have had to go through in order to put everything in its rightful places.

Okay fast forward, I took the licensure exam last September 2022 and it was a success at first attempt. I wanted to reward myself for all the hardships I’ve been through and of course I wanted to discover new places and foods and experience the magic of the cities (this is what I actually love about being in Europe– I get to travel to different countries via train or bus and without even needing another visa!) and yes, I’ve found it all in Belgium.

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com- Bruxelles Central Station
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com- This is one of the old artisan Belgian Chocolates I’ve seen here
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Before my colleague and I went there, it is but natural to look for reviews at the internet and get some ideas on what to explore in the city. I’ve never expected that it would surprise me even more when we were actually there roaming around and trying to discover that beautiful place. I mean, Brussels is a quiet city and 1 km away from the center, you would notice how quiet it is and you’ll barely see people strolling. It seemed to me that the city center is the busiest area but away from that it’s already different. I must also say that it is better explored by walking because buses are not often seen there (compared to my current residence which is Germany, there is quite difference when it comes to public transpo).

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com- there was a graduation ceremony that time
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com- inside the Neuhaus store
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

It surprised me as well seeing historic places, the simple yet exquisite taste of their foods, the scent of chocolates and waffles that blend in the air, the picture perfect view and the friendliness of people to the tourists. I’m not sure if I am able to describe exactly how happy I was to visit there.

(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Gentbrugge never failed to amaze me as well though it took us another ride to get there from Zaventem. It kinda reminded me of Amsterdam but it has its own charm. The historic castles and picturesque view of the city are amazing, and makes me feel like I want to go back in time.

(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Of course it is never complete without the foods that we’ve tried during our trip. Belgian foods are exquisite and I love how it was prepared and the mixture of flavors that truly wakes the craving appetite.

(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c)sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com
(c) sweetandlovelygirl.wordpress.com

Compared to the pictures that I see online about Belgium, I must say that there is so much more than those pictures and it is great to experience on your own because only you are the one who can unlock the beauty and mystery of a city. Maybe to some it just looks plain but to me it feels fantastic and made me appreciate different cultures even more. I was actually having second thoughts before if I would go to Belgium or not because I did not see the other areas of it and I only relied on the photos online. I am thankful I was able to visit the country and proved myself wrong about my first thoughts of Belgium.

Another thing I love about Belgium is that they speak different languages. Dutch is the usual one that I hear but if you can’t understand Dutch, they will switch immediately to French or English. In my case I understand a bit of Dutch because of its similarity in some words to German, and of course English.

People are kinda hospitable, cool to talk to and happy to explain things to foreigners especially in the chocolate stores. They tell how it is carefully made and will let you try for free. There were even locals who helped us find the station because we’ve got lost away from the center. They accompanied us all the way to the train station even if it was already drizzling because there is no bus to ride going to it.

Truly our stay in beautiful Belgium is one of the best and I wish I could go back there someday with my family. I am pretty sure they will enjoy like I did.


Sweet Thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.